In Missive, shared accounts and addresses offer a few settings for different workflows:
When choosing Inbox, everyone has their own unread and archived state. New messages will be added to everyone's Inbox. When someone answers or archives a message, it will remain unread in their coworkers’ inbox until they read / archive / trash it themselves. This is useful for people who want to remain master of their own inbox and see all messages that have been received and answered by anyone.
When choosing Team Inbox, new messages appear in the Team Inbox instead of the Inbox. The Team Inbox is shared among its team members, meaning that whenever a message is assigned / archived / closed, it will be removed from the Team Inbox for everyone. This is useful for teams who want a “triage” step that will clean up messages for all coworkers at once.
Let’s say we enable the Team Inbox flow for the account firstname.lastname@example.org and select the 🎯Sales team. All team members can now see incoming messages in the 🎯Sales team inbox from the left sidebar.
When creating a team, you can define two types of users:
Members receive notifications for new messages. They see conversations listed in the Unassigned mailbox in addition to the team inbox.
Observers do not receive notifications and see conversations listed in the team inbox only. This is perfect for managers who want to monitor the work being done but don’t want to be flooded with notifications.
When choosing Unassigned, you add a triaging step like with a team inbox, but without creating a dedicated space to consume the conversations. New messages appear in the Unassigned mailbox of everyone receiving the messages.
These settings are available in the Organizations > Message sharing tab. You can read more about triaging and assignment in this guide.
Last updated on September 25, 2019