Feature Overview

Rules

Rules are a powerful way to automate your team workflows.

They can be executed when a message (email, SMS, tweet, DM, Facebook message, WhatsApp or Missive Chat) comes in or out of an inbox. They can also be defined on some user actions like applying/removing a label, changing the status of a conversation (assigned/closed/reopened) or by posting a new comment.

When all or any of the rule conditions are met, the automated actions defined on the rule are triggered. What's more impressive is you can create complex conditions by nesting them in sub-groups.

Note Rules can only be managed by admins and owners of organizations subscribed to the Productive plan. See pricing page. Rules are defined in your Missive settings. You can define as many as you need.


To help you understand the potential of this feature, here are a few scenarios:

Label your customer conversations with a dedicated label

Using one label per customer is a nice way to get your team more organized, but doing so manually is error-prone. With a rule, it’s quick and easy. Create a rule like this one for each customer:

DescriptionACME auto-labeling
ConditionsAny recipient   ends with   “acme.com”
ActionsApply label(s)   “ACME”
Automatically apply labels to conversations
All future conversations with ACME people will get the label applied.

Make sure all emails get replied to on time

Respect your Service-level agreements (SLA) with time-based rules. You can create as many rules as you need to respect all of your customer's specificities.

Automatically apply labels to conversations

Archive and mark conversations as read for specific team member(s)

Sometimes the person importing shared accounts in Missive is not the one that will work with them most of the time. For that person, it can be annoying to receive notifications and see emails from all these accounts. Rules can help by automatically archiving and marking as read these emails for the account owner.

DescriptionAuto-archive for IT guy
ConditionsEmail account   is   “help@mycompany.com”
ActionsRemove from Inbox for Phil
Remove from Unassigned for Phil
Mark as read for Phil
ActionsTrash

With that rule in place, Phil the IT guy won’t get annoyed by emails sent to help@mycompany.com even though he remains the owner of that account.

Automatically add notes to a conversation

Let’s say your staff processes customer orders and that some customers have specific requirements. Using a rule, you can automatically add a note based and who sent the message. This can help your staff deal with that customer’s requirements.

NameACME warning note
ConditionsFrom   ends with  “acme.com”
ActionsCreate post   “⚠️ ACME will not accept any driver with past felonies
at its factory. Make sure to book a driver with no felony.”
Automatically add notes to any conversation
A big warning your employees won’t miss.

Automatically assign sent emails to authors

If many employees send cold emails to customers using a common shared email account, you might want to auto assign those to the email author. This way, if the recipient replies, only the author will have the reply in their inbox. This can be achieved using an outgoing message rule with the Assign sender action. The conversation will be assigned to the message sender.

DescriptionAuto-assign sent emails
ConditionsEmail account   is   sales@mycompany.com”
ActionsAssign sender


Here's a list of all the conditions and actions possible for outgoing and incoming messages:

Incoming messages options

Conditions

From
To
Cc
Any recipient
Reply to
Subject
Attachment name
Message content
Reception time
Set a reception time condition
Email account
Conversation assignee
Watching user
Label
Conversation state
Unreplied and open afterSet an SLA
Unassigned and open afterSet an SLA

Actions

Apply label(s)
Assign user(s)Assigne users
Add to user Inbox
Add to UnassignedThis will remove all assignees.
Move to Team InboxMove to team a team inbox
Share with teammates
Notify

Who should be notified?
Silence notificationsSilence notifications
Set conversation colorChange conversation colors
Create post
Remove from Inbox
TrashThis will trash the conversation for everyone and remove all assignees, snooze times and pins.
Remove label(s)
Remove from Unassigned
Remove from Team Inbox
Remove to Team
CloseThis will close the conversation for everyone.
Mark as read
SnoozeSnooze conversations
Unsnooze
Create draftCreate drafts
Send responseSend responses
Forward messageForward messages
Merge conversationMerge conversations
Webhook - Learn more

Outgoing messages options

Conditions

From
To
Cc
Any recipient
Subject
Attachment name
Message content
Delivery time
Email account
Conversation assignee
Watching user
Label
Conversation state

Actions

Add recepient(s)
Assign senderConversation will be assigned to the message sender.
Apply label(s)
Assign user(s)
Add to user Inbox
Add to UnassignedThis will remove all assignees.
Move to Team Inbox
Share with teammates
Notify

Who should be notified?
Silence notifications
Set conversation color
Create post
Remove from Inbox
TrashThis will trash the conversation for everyone and remove all assignees, snooze times and pins.
Remove label(s)
Remove from Unassigned
Remove from Team Inbox
Remove to Team
CloseThis will close the conversation for everyone.
Mark as read
Snooze
Unsnooze
Merge conversation
Webhook - Learn more

Here's a list of all the conditions and actions possible for user actions:

On label changes, conversation assigned, closed, reopened and new comments.

Conditions

Added label name
Added label name (or parent name)
Removed label name
Removed label name (or parent name)
Added assignee
Removed assignee
Text
Mention
Attachment name
Comment type
Action initiator
Conversation assignee
Watching user
Label
Conversation state

Actions

Apply label(s)
Assign user(s)
Add to user Inbox
Add to UnassignedThis will remove all assignees.
Move to Team Inbox
Share with teammates
Notify

Who should be notified?
Silence notifications
Set conversation color
Create post
Remove from Inbox
TrashThis will trash the conversation for everyone and remove all assignees, snooze times and pins.
Remove label(s)
Remove from Unassigned
Remove from Team Inbox
Remove to Team
CloseThis will close the conversation for everyone.
Mark as read
Snooze
Unsnooze
Create draft
Send response
Forward message
Merge conversation
Webhook - Learn more

Last updated on June 23, 2020

Want to see more?

See all features or try it yourself.