Archiving clears a conversation from your own Inbox only. If some of your teammates have that conversation in their Inbox, archiving it from yours will leave it in theirs. Once archived, conversations can be found in the All mailbox.
Closing goes hand in hand with Team Inboxes and the Assigned to me mailbox.
When a person closes a conversation, all their coworkers can see the following effects:
- If the conversation was in a Team Inbox, it is removed from there.
- If the conversation was assigned, it is removed from Assigned to me and Assigned to others.
- The conversation ends up in Closed, which can be less noisy than the All mailbox to find conversations someone in your team acted on recently.
This assignment reference guide explains how you can best use these mailboxes.
Does closing automatically archive?
It depends. For the person who closes, the conversation does get archived from their personal Inbox automatically. For coworkers, closing will leave the conversation in their Inbox unless they changed the personal option “When a conversation in my Inbox gets closed or assigned to someone else” to “Remove from my Inbox” in the Organizations settings tab.
Last updated on February 11, 2022