Guide

Missive concepts explained

In Missive, an organization is a group of people who collaborate together. For example, you could have an organization named Acme that would be composed of everyone working at the Acme company.

Teams can be defined within Missive organizations. They are used to map company departments and business units like Sales, HR, Production, etc.

Organization

There are three permission levels within an organization: Owner, Admin, and Basic member. The person who creates the organization is the owner, but this can be changed afterwards. New people joining the organization will be basic members by default. The owner is responsible for promoting basic members to admins. Admins get extra permissions such as controlling email sharing settings, promoting and deleting members, managing shared labels, etc.

Billing happens at the organization level, and can only be managed by the owner. When you subscribe your organization to a paid plan, all members will have their email and chat history limit raised from 15 days to 6 months on the Starter plan, or unlimited on the Productive plan.

Most people using Missive are part of a single organization, because they work at only one company. However, someone could be part of many organizations. A user could be part of both the Acme and Improve People’s Life organizations if they work at Acme and also do some charity work at Improve People’s Life.

It’s important to understand that organizations are siloed. As soon as a conversation is linked to an organization, it cannot be shared with someone from another organization. In the above scenario, emails and chats exchanged at Acme cannot be leaked to people at Improve People’s Life.

Teams

Teams are managed within an organization. They map subsets of people within the organization. They are perfect for mapping departments and business units like Sales, HR, Production, etc.

When a team is created, it lets you:

  • Chat in a specific team room accessible only to team members
  • Share an email account with a team
  • Share canned responses with a team
  • @mention / invite a team to a conversation
  • Share conversations with a team upon applying a shared label


Last updated on February 20, 2018

Need more specific answers?

Contact us via our Help Center